SEPTEKH (Sweden) Interview by www.wintertorment.com

SEPTEKH (Sweden) Interview

by www.wintertorment.com

By Patrick

Here is a new interview with sweden’s Septekh the band recently released it’s second Mcd/E.P through the mighty Abyss rec. “Apollian Eyes”. defintly worth your money and time if you enjoy extreme death/black/thrash with some punkish influence. enjoy the interview and thanks as always to everyone who takes the time to read the zine!! regards, patrick

Interview with Staffan Perrson drummer for Septekh done by Patrick

1.Metal hails Staffan! how is your weekend been going?Please introduce yourself to the readers.

Hail hail my friend! It´s been going pretty good so far. We had a gathering with the band last night and managed to awaken an old beast of a song so I am in a quite good mood, for the moment at least! I also saw some some production photos from our video for Burn It To The Ground and let´s just say that it made me excited (I almost lost my mind is a more correct description). The metal world has something to look forward to with that one.

2.When did you first get into metal?Who were some of the early bands you listened to? Who are some of your current favorite bands?

Ohh lets see… (Warning: The Story of my life follows) Like a lot of kids I listened to pretty much everything. The first band that´s close to metal that I ever owned records by must have been Europe haha! (and I guess the Swedish artist Magnus Uggla was a little bit metal in spirit at least) Then I heard Metallica and other 80´s bands. From there on things went crazy pretty fast. I had older friends who had gotten hold of records by more “extreme” acts. So soon I had tapes with songs by various death metal bands. I did not know who the bands were, I just liked the whole thing. There was this feeling that you had discovered something secret and dangerous. And then the Second wave of black metal happened. And with that came a new level; music was like magic. Being so young and hearing all of these Norwegian bands was such an amazing experience and it made a huge impression on me. So my metal journey made a jump fast forward in a way. Some of the (metal) bands That are very close to my heart from my early years are Burzum, Darkthrone, Immortal etc. Later I actually found out that one of my favorite tunes on one of my old mix tapes was a track by Entombed (can’t remember which one now though). So in a weird way that was a highpoint for me. When you did not know anything about the bands and all of them had an identity of their own. Truly magical years.  When it comes to metal today I don’t know really. I still like a lot of the same bands I used to like. Aura Noir is a band that is truly excellent. Most of the new stuff that I listen to is not metal though..

3.When did you and the other members of Septekh first meet?Was long after that you all decided to start up Septekh?How did uoi all come up with the name of the band?Does it have a special meaning?

We met through the formation of the band. I did not know any of the others before the first rehearsal. We got in contact through a mutual friend. The name was found in an old (not completely p.c.) book that belonged to and old relative to one of the band members. It has several meanings but one of the best things about it is that there are no other bands with this exact name. That is quite a feat in these days.

4.What is the “current” line-up of the band? For the readers who have never heard Septekh’s music how would you best describe it?

Same as always: Me on drums, David on guitar, George-Patrick on bass and Nils GRNLZ on vocals (lets call it the “classic” lineup of the band). We play some kind of groovy eclectic punky popy dirty blackened death/trash metal if you are to believe those who have heard us and voiced their opinion. All I can say is that we are all about good songs and performance.

5.Septekh recently released their new Mcd “Apollonian Eyes” through Abyss Rec. How did you all come in contact with Dan and Abyss Rec.?

He contacted us through Myspace. So this was in the elder days of 2009.

6.How long did it take the band to write the songs for “Apollonian Eyes”? Are you and the other members satisfied with how everything turned out? do you have a personal favorite song? why is it your favorite?

Can’t really remember. a couple of months I think. Before we were constantly writing songs. For both this and “The Seth Avalanche” We had more songs and chose which ones to record. Considering that this was recorded in March 2010 I think it represents were the the band was at the time. Maybe not a favourite but I like Vlad Tepes a lot because it´s got a special vibe and puts you in a certain mood when listening to it. The epic nature of the song also makes it very cool to play live!

7.How has the response been from the press and the fans so far?

Very positive thus far which is nice!

8.Does the band get to play live very often or do you all prefer to work in the studio only?Who are some bands Septekh has shared the stage with?

Not as often as we like atm!!! We are always out for a stage to destroy. I love to be in the studio (most of times anyway, hehe) as well but the stage is where a band should shine the most. Music is a living thing. At least for us.

9.What have been some of your most memorable shows?Anything crazy/insane ever happen at one of your shows? If you could set up a “dream” show/tour who are some bands{past or present} you would love to play/tour with?

Nothing too crazy. Playing a couple of songs without distortion on the guitar (not crazy just “sonically interesting”). Nils had to fight a stupid nazi at one show (he won). We did a show with a horde of zombies in the audience, that was definitely a highlight. Maybe Zeppelin, Nirvana and MJ because I never saw any of them live and now I can’t?

10.I believe i read the band is currently writing songs for Septekh’s debut full-length to be released later this year.Will it be released through Abyss Rec. or have you all discussed it?How many songs do you plan to have on the new release?

It is already recorded and will contain 13 songs! It will be a very varied album and I can´t wait to get the songs out there.

11.How would you say the new music/songs you are writing are different then your previous E.P’s? Does the band/label have a release date set for the new full-length?

Listening to the material I can only say that it is more focused and tight and that I am very proud of it. There are hooks, substance and darkness all blended together with the best sound we’ve ever had. It’s like the VIDEO I mentioned earlier; a totally new thing. There are traces of what was on the previous releases and it is all very much Septekh. But more refined this time. We want to release it this year but no contract has been signed as of yet.

12.The band comes out of the legendary swedish underground scene.So i was curious what is your opinion of Sweden’s metal underground scene today?

I don’t know really. By underground I guess you mean bands that not really big or “mainstream”. We still do not hang out with that many scenesters so no one of us are really up to date with what´s going on. I think there are too many bands that sound the same.Having said that, I must say that I am proud of the heritage and with this amount of active bands some must be good, right?

13.Who are some of your all-time favorite swedish metal bands? Are their any new bands you think the readers should check out soon?

Dissection, At The Gates and Bathory. No more, no less. I think the quality that they have put out is beyond criticism and they all have timeless classics under there belts. (I guess Bathory is in a category of its own here because of the history and influence but that goes without saying) Oh, and Trollhättans stolthet The Crown of course!

14.In your opinion what does the term “underground metal” mean to you?

Not much really. It’s confusing because it had a meaning before but now it’s just a label for smaller bands or acts that play some kind of retro/old school style. I guess it should mean that you do not follow the current trends of metal and do whatever you want. But there are many trends in what is usually referred to as the underground as well.

15.Coming back to the band for a moment you handle the drums for the band,when did you first start playing drums?Are you self-taught or did take lessons when you first started out?

I think I was around 14 when I started playing more seriously. I got my first drum kit at 16 and am self taught (for the better and worse)

16.Who are some of your influences/favorite drummers?Do you play any other instruments?

When it comes to metal drummers I have to mention Fenriz, Frost and maybe Adrian Erlandsson. I also like the ferocious and delicate drumming of Jimmy Chamberlin a lot. There are so many great drummers out there to get inspired by and cherry pick things from! I also play guitar and love to play bass! Recently I have also found a new musical love in the harmonica! The urge to play it is strongest when under influence.

17.Well Staffan we have reached the end of the interview.Thank you for taking the time to fill this out do you have any final comments for the readers?

Thank you! Prepare for the full length album and please keep an eye out for our VIDEO for Burn It To The Ground. It´s coming soon and will be very epic. IT WILL BE THE THRILLER OF METAL VIDEOS!!! So keep the popcorns ready!

Be sure to order your copy of SEPTEKH’S New Mcd “Apollian Eyes” from Abyss Rec. today!! http://www.officialabyssrecords.com

Interview link: www.wintertorment.com/2013/04/interview-with-septekh-done-by-patrick.html

Septekh links:

Official Website: www.septekh.com

Myspace: www.myspace.com/septekh

Facebook: www.facebook.com/septekh

Reverbnation: www.reverbnation.com/septekh

Last fm: www.last.fm/music/septekh

Abyss Records links:

Label & Online Music Store: www.officialabyssrecords.com

Myspace: www.myspace.com/abyssrecordsofficial

Facebook: www.facebook.com/OfficialAbyssRecords

Reverbnation: www.reverbnation.com/label/abyssrecords

Last fm: www.last.fm/label/AbyssRecords

Youtube: www.youtube.com/user/MinionfortheAbyss

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AbyssRecords

Other links:

To purchase SEPTEKH “Apollonian Eyes” CD EP, “The Seth Avalanche” CD EP and official merchandise go to: www.officialabyssrecords.com/advanced_search_result.php?keywords=septekh

To Preview a song from “The Seth Avalanche” go to: www.youtube.com/watch?v=VIw0oyaI6w0

Leave a Reply

