RADIATION SICKNESS (U.S.) “Reflections of a Psychotic Past” CD review by Destructive Music

RADIATION SICKNESS (U.S.) “Reflections of a Psychotic Past” CD review by Destructive Music

By Storm Dweller

For starters, I wouldn’t call this offering Death metal. I mean, this is stylistically similar to it at times, but it isn’t on the same level as Cannibal or Deicide. Nowhere near that good. The Indiana-born group Radiation Sickness have a sound that takes some influence from Death metal and smashes it together with a lot of Punk and a little bit of Thrash. At times, I believe I detect some old-school Hardcore in the mix as well…

The album I am reviewing is “Reflections of a Psychotic Past”, which is Radiation’s 2012 release. I looked these guys up online and discovered a bit of history on them; they originally got together in the late ’80s, put out a series of demos and some EPs, and then split up in 1990. Supposedly, the band got back together in the mid-’90s to put out another demo, minus the original vocalist, but I haven’t been able to track down any information on this. Anyway, getting back to this album, I have to say that “Reflections” isn’t terrible. It isn’t what I’d call GOOD, but it’s not all bad either. Most of the songs are short (borderline Grindcore short) and aggressive. I don’t mean aggressive in the same way that Thrash metal is, oh no; Thrash is a pissed-off, automatic rifle-toting Marine, while this is more like an empty blender set on high. Still, this album didn’t make me cringe (always a good thing), and the production is decent, which is a definite checkmark in the positive column. I’ve heard some really crappy mixes that’ve brought otherwise decent albums down. I know that there are others who feel that production isn’t a huge part of what makes a metal album good, and in some cases, I whole-heartedly agree! But usually the production for recently released extreme metal of any kind is expected to sound at least listenable. Thank the Gods that this album does!

As I said, this is a decent release. The songs are mainly fast-paced and short, but they’re not quite as chaotic as Grindcore. If you need something to compare Radiation Sickness to, the band that they’re closest to stylistically is Macabre. Then main difference between the two is that Radiation don’t have as much melody and don’t incorporate sing-song choruses about serial killers eating and bathing with dead men into their music (a loving reference to Macabre’s “Dahmer”). The vocalists even sound similar! That whiney, semi-high wail is something that I’d only ever heard Macabre do, so I thought that they were the only ones who really used it . I guess I was incorrect there. Ah well, you learn new things every day! Because all of the songs are short in length and similar in sound, I honestly couldn’t decide on any definite gems for this release. It’s not that any of the tracks suck, it’s just that after a while, the album sounds like it’s one long song, if you follow my meaning.

After many a listen to “Reflections of a Psychotic Past” by Radiation Sickness, I feel comfortable in giving it 7/10. This wasn’t bad. These guys definitely have potential. I hope they can tap into it on future releases! I bet these guys could be SO brutal it they wanted to! But music is art, and art is about what the artist wishes to express, not the critics. I wish Radiation Sickness luck in their future, whatever it may hold!

Rating: 7/10

Review link: http://destructive-music.com/?p=5126

Radiation Sickness links:

Booking Agent: indycardoug38@yahoo.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/RadiationDoug

Reverbnation: www.reverbnation.com/radiationdoug

Last fm: www.last.fm/music/Radiation+Sickness

Abyss Records links:

Label & Online Music Store: www.officialabyssrecords.com

Myspace: www.myspace.com/abyssrecordsofficial

Facebook: www.facebook.com/OfficialAbyssRecords

Reverbnation: www.reverbnation.com/label/abyssrecords

Last fm: www.last.fm/label/AbyssRecords

Youtube: www.youtube.com/user/MinionfortheAbyss

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AbyssRecords

To purchase RADIATION SICKNESS “Reflections of a Psychotic Past” CD and other RADIATION SICKNESS merchandise go to: www.officialabyssrecords.com/advanced_search_result.php?keywords=radiation+sickness

Leave a Reply

